Art Every Day (Yep, again!)

21 Nov

Well, been doing it still. Now thinking about the Holidays and all the presents that can be achieved at home, with my own two hands. But it’s not like I’ve had the time to post everything, so here it is, what I’ve been doing since the last time. Hope you like it.

I’ve been working on a couple of things at once, as usual. First, an owl for my sister in Florida. We are trading hand-made gifts. She asked me what I wanted and I told her I needed a big, sturdy tote bag which I’ll be sure to show you guys when I get in in the mail. For her, this owl, just because I’ve grown fond of them with all the revival of the 70s fashion for everything owl:

 IMG01189                  IMG01190

IMG01188IMG01216  

The, with my deep love for Gustav Klimt only growing with time I finally decided to try my hand at a piece inspired by his glorious work. I took one of my thrift store finds, a cheap framed canvas which had been covered in dark green paint and then splattered with tiny white dots of paint I’d been keeping for the longest time and went to town with it. I gessoed it and sat in front of the laptop with a pic of one of his women and tried my hand at making it my own:

IMG01182 IMG01187

It is not a version of the the whole original picture, but it was close enough to what I usually do, and I did want to make it my own, not a copy because that would be impossible, like trying to copy a God, so I want to feel comfortable working on the image.

IMG01193 IMG01208

      IMG01211          IMG01215

Now, for the last set of pics. I worked tonight on an original piece inspired by Klimt’s backgrounds. Of course, not nearly as stunning as his, mind you, but I just wanted to make something purely mine, but richer in feel in comparison with what I usually do. So I looked at my picture file and found the photo of a woman who was the inspiration of Modigliany. The photo has a very mysterious feel to it, her look, her clothing, all of it could be interpreted in so many ways, I just had to work on something that would –at least- remind me of her when I looked at it.

jeanne_hebuterne  IMG01204

IMG01205 IMG01206

        IMG01212        IMG01214

I actually LOVE the way she came out. It is still a portrait in the way I make them, mostly a face and a neck, yeah, I know, I will surprise you when you least expect it with a whole body, you’ll see! But, I made a connection with an original portrait, the photograph of Modigliani’s girlfriend, I brought into it a feel for Klimt’s work with the background, and I was able to make it something totally my own which is ultimately the point. I may not be feeling totally happy about a whole slew of things in my own mind, but at least on the only spot I can control right now I’m making something that is totally me, only my own, something to keep me grounded. Art always saves.

For now, this is more than enough for this fat lady to sing tonight. Plus: It’s Sunday and that only means one thing: AMC’s  “THER WALKING DEAD”!!! Which happens to be AMAZING! If you enjoy watching zombies getting whacked, you’re in for a treat, go watch it!

As always,

Blessings, Love and Light!

E.

3 Responses to “Art Every Day (Yep, again!)”

  1. Effy November 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Loving all of the beautiful work you’re producing! I especially adore the last piece, which knocks my socks right off.

  2. Tita November 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Loving all three canvases. Does it matter what brand of acrylic paint you use? I had to leave all of my paints back at home, but took my brushes with me.

    • Edna November 22, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      I gravitate towards the cheapest ones LOL! Artist Loft (I think that is Michael’s store brand) is very good, a bit on the thick tacky side, but it depends what you are working on, you can water it down a bit and it works great on any surface. I also use Liquitex BASICS whic are the cheap cousin to Golden acrylics, the big daddy for the mixed media artist who uses lots of acrylics. I paint with anything that I have on hand, from the tiny hobby shop acrylics which are 8 bucks a dozen (thicker and long lasting, great texture too) to the .59 cent crafter’s acrylic which is watered down and has a matte finish, to the Artist Loft, which is 3.99 for an 8 oz. tube. Hope this helps,
      Blessings,
      E.

Leave a Reply

