Still Making Art (Every Day)

16 Nov

          This will be short, I’ve been taking care of my little man the past week and a half. He’s been really sick and I’ve been giving him Albuterol therapy with the machine 3 times a day for about 7 or 8 days. Oh Joy!

 

                                                     IMG01122

 

          The workshop I have been participating in since the beginning of November has brought forth so many ideas, so much inspiration, that I keep feeling the need to make journal entries or spreads from quotes I’ve found as I read this wonderful book Life is a Verb (Patti Digh) under the expert guidance of Effy Wild (Wild Precious Studio).

 

                                                    IMG01128

 

          One of the things Digh discusses when touching on the subject of your life as your personal story is the concept of Quiditty, or that which makes you “you”, the embodiment of your individuality. She talks about patterns, of the fact that we should take note of those things in our lives which have become part of a pattern. Are our patterns working for us?, If not, what should we do to modify them?

 

IMG01129

 

          This idea of what makes me ME, and of the fact that there are so many patterns in my life drove me to a journal entry I really enjoyed making. I have realized that it is life which has helped me become an individual. I recognize that there are aspects of my character and personality which are inherently part of my upbringing, but life has thrown quite a hefty amount of curveballs my way too, and those have shaped me as much as erosion reshapes a rock. Many of those things that life has offered me are part of patterns: the kind of men I fell for, the kinds of people I surrounded myself with, how much of a people pleaser I used to be… well, the list is too long for today and you already know how I feel about lists!

 

IMG01131

          After this, I kept on going and did an entry totally unrelated to the workshop, yep, I was on a roll!

IMG01119

The page has a cut out, so I had to finish the dress on the next page so it would show on the page as part of the piece:

IMG01123

Then I saw I would have to justify hat piece of fabric there on the next page when it came time to use the page. What to do? I created a window with four panes so the piece of fabric could be turned into a curtain:

                                                      IMG01126

IMG01125

          I did the same thing with the missing wing part. The page says:

“I always wear my heart, its wings make for a pretty dress. It’s all made out of feathers and I can put it on whenever I feel safe to take flight. I keep my pretty white dress in a safe place, its feathers are really worn.”

          Come to think of it, it actually has to do with the workshop too, and the patterns and my very own Quiditty.

This is as much as the fat lady can sing for today. Thanks for looking and reading and making the visit.

I love your comments and am planning on a give-away pretty soon. So don’t only visit, follow me here too, subscribe and you’ll always be on the know.

As always, Blessings, Love and Light!

E.

5 Responses to “Still Making Art (Every Day)”

  1. nancybird75 November 16, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    I love the heart with wings on a hanger. Beautiful images and thoughtful words!

    • Edna November 16, 2011 at 1:25 am #

      Gracias nancy!!! Las fotos no son de la mejor calidad porque las tome con el telefono, despues trate de mejorarlas un poco en la computadora, pero en eso no soy muy buena. Gracias por tus comentarios, siempre.

  2. Maisy November 16, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Love both pages but the top one – and more importantly, it’s message – is my fave. You’re so on a roll with these pages, Ed! ❤

    • serenity November 17, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      I loved reading this, the message is so very important and a good one to be reminded of. You are very interesting and I Love reading your blog I will be reading more of it, thank you for telling me about it.

  3. Pyxidragon November 18, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Beautiful Love the thoughts on patterns and thank you for sharing these pages….wow!

Leave a Reply

