ART Every DAY!!! (yep, still at it)

10 Nov

Just in case you were wondering. I’m still here, and still “arting” every day. These last few days I have been working, finally, on the writing and journaling for the Wild Precious Studio workshop “To See Us Through The Long Dark” based on Patti Digh’s book LIFE IS A VERB.

So, I finally gave myself time to sit down and DO something. I had started reading the book as soon as I got it in the mail, I had to go back, sit down -before even thinking about answering Effy’s prompt questions- and take a look at what had caught my attention while giving it a first read. I sat down and went over all my underlining and margin notes and started with that. I copied the quotes that hit me the hardest and reacted to them, much in the way I did my studying and researching when I was in College. Finally studying Literature served me for something! LOL

Well, I spent a couple of hours doing that, and THEN I went back to Effy’s questions and was able to answer them honestly and without as much trouble as I was having when I first looked at them.

The main idea of what we have to do art-wise is to work on the concept of our life story seen as a house. I thought, if my life is a story, it’s in a story-book, this made me think of my childhood, and all the years I spent dreaming of having one of those big doll houses that open –just like a book would- and both sides have room for everything a house should have, like a full life, I wanted a full house. So that is what I “journaled”. The idea of inhabiting my life-story was wonderful for me, because I could truly look at my life almost from the outside in, like I do when I am analyzing a novel. So my house became my “STORY-Book HOUSE”.

I jotted the plan to make a board book into a house-book, with all the pages looking like the inside og a little girl’s doll house. Since I did not have the time to make that, I turned my original idea into a 3part journal spread. On the outside cover of the journal I’d already made for the workshop I created the facade of my Story-Book House. This is what came of it, the home I have always dreamed about, a little cottage surrounded by trees and flowers, in this case all representative of aspects of my life, past and present (notice the door has no knob, your life-story should be opened from the inside): clip_image002

Then I turned the page and went in. The next two pages show two sides of my story, two parts of my home. It is as if you were opening a doll house and looking in at both sides of the house.

clip_image004

One side is darker, more introspective, with books (which have always been a very important aspect of my life, a rocking chair like my grandfather’s (which I used to rock my son to sleep when he was a baby. There is a huge key above the door and the space where the door should be is full of little drawers (the compartmentalization you create for the world outside of your story.) There is an old map of NY and a round window that looks out into nothing (since what really matters is inside), the outside functions accordingly. There is a woman looking down from the attic, that is one of my first drawings, and she’s my muse, overlooking my inner life. There is also a stairs going up and a caption at the bottom that reads: “ADULT NONFICTION”. And a space above the house, in the “sky” to do some journaling.

clip_image006

On the right side is a sunny and magical space inhabited by creatures past, present and future (maybe). The people that did not stay (good riddance). There are creatures of nature which remind me of the wild woman in me, of my ancient ties with air, water and trees. The freedom I struggled to have for so long is present in the form of butterflies, dragonflies and birds. Even a toad is there, something I’ve always hated, but reminds me of the ugly parts of myself and of my life I’ll always have to live with… There is also an antique bird cage, beautiful and ornate, but still a cage – a reminder not to repeat the same mistakes from previous marriages.

Well, not gonna bore you anymore! Instead of giving myself space for journaling, I added printed words that helped me illustrate my story: The Building Site, Contemplation, Creativity, Observation, Society, Acquisitions, Find the Future and Promise (because I have never felt my life holds as much promise as it does now).

This is hard, good hard, it is also amazing and so rewarding! It’s like having therapy with a shrink, but creative and FUN!

*YOU SHOULD COME CHECK IT OUT AT WILD PRECIOUS STUDIO

On a different note: The painting finally arrived to its destination in Missouri!!!! YAAAAYYYYYY!!!!! Here is the pic my friend Kimberly sent of the way she has set it up in her home. It is simple, tasteful and just LOVELY!!!!

clip_image008

This is all for now Guys! The fat lady has sung and will keep posting art stuff as “almost daily” as possible. Till then,

Blessings, Love and Light!

PS: I worked on a new journal spread today and hope to be posting and blogging about it tomorrow.

E.

12 Responses to “ART Every DAY!!! (yep, still at it)”

  1. Seren November 11, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    I really enjoyed reading this. IT was so inspiring to hear how you created your house and why. I have life is a verb and read it. I wanted to do that class but things have come up in my personal iife and I don’t have the time to devote to the class. which is pretty sad. BUT your post was not, it was encouraging and up lifting and inspiring.

    • Edna November 12, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      Take a chance and dive in too. It is hard, but it is also lots of fun. Have you checked out the page where we are all posting? It’s full of great stuff people are posting. Go get inspired!

  2. Lala November 11, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    What a fantastic creation with so much depth and very meaningful symbolism. I love it. I may just try this myself. Thanks for the inspiration Edna!! 🙂 The photo of your art in your friends home is truly delightful – your friend is very lucky.

    • Edna November 11, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      You always have such kind words for my Lala! Thanks for being witness to my growth and my process. You honor me with your presence.

  3. katia santos November 11, 2011 at 4:51 am #

    mi querida edna no sabia que estabas en flickr tambien estoy alli buscame como venusina8,,,,tus pinturas son hermosasssssssssssss la chica de fondo azul uyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ya me la hubiese traido directo a mi taller,,,,gracias por enviarme tu enlace del blog esta super hermoso,,,un besote enorme y que sigan esas musas haciendo de las suyas,,,,,Katia Santos

    • Edna November 11, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      Te busco tan prontop tenga un chance amiga. Tu y yo tenemos que hacer un intercambio de obras. Te anomas?

  4. theclam November 11, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    Woohoo! Congrats on diving in. I dove into the intro and hit a wall (ha ha ha!) on the house thing. Still chewing on it.

    • Edna November 11, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      Hi!!!! thanks for visiting! I’m dying to see yours.

  5. Kimberly November 11, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    You really are an inspiration Edna! Thank you for bringing us all along on your journey. I always enjoy see the creative process everyone goes through in their own unique ways. Sounds like an interesting class. I look forward to getting started on one sometime soon! Thanks again, and enjoy the wild wave you’re riding! Much love! K

    • Edna November 11, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

      Kimberly, you know you will always be here with me as one of my sources of inspiration, your art -in many sweet realms- is a joy to see and to taste. I wish I could take a peek into your kitchen.

  6. Juliette Crane November 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    so fun to read! thank you for the inspiration! it’s lovely to see your work!

    xo, juliette

    • Edna November 11, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      It’s an honor to have you visit! Thanks so much for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

