Art Every Day (day 2)

5 Nov

Ok. I’ve been doing it every day so far. I have been cheating a bit too, cause I have also been doing some other finishing up these days as well as the piece that I presented to you on Nov.2nd.

I’ll show you the finished product and then I’ll go on to show ya the other stuff.

This is what you saw then, my preliminary work on a new piece where I would later on add some collage:

This is what I did next, I took some lovely colors from my little craft acrylics bin, squirted some around the girl, pink, blue and yellow. Then I spread them around, getting this sort of thing as an effect –that’s my technical description and I’m sticking to it!

Now, as you can imagine I could not possibly leave that poor naked girl, so pure and chaste on a background that would call attention to her nakedness… Oh no! Mamma had to do something about this! And SOON! So this is what happened:

 

I’ll try to get a better quality pic –taken during the daytime, maybe- so you can get a better look at the texture on the piece. She’s lovely, isn’t she?

The other piece that I had been working on that I finished after the start of this month was a mixed media piece I had started as fulfillment to my first commission. My friend Kimberly Brown Miner –baker extraordinaire and owner of Sugar and Spikes in Missouri- had asked me to put her in one of my pieces, to turn her into one of my girls. Well, I thought, Kim is a lovely woman with gorgeous tattoos, a flawless ivory skin and big gray eyes… hmmm, what to do??? I know she enjoys the dark side in art, she enjoys the Goth style. May I turn her into a Goth girl, with big blue eyes and dark hair and of course, those gorgeous tats? So I went with that idea. I practiced drawing her face once, twice, and by the third time I was pretty happy with the resemblance. I cut the face drawing and after having created a sort of Goth, dark background on a 12 x 16 canvas, I placed the face to the back ground:

 

I drew the shoulders in white pencil and started to color it in, skin color first, then the facial features, then the tattoos, it was a disaster. The line where the paper drawing ended and the canvas began was too obvious, the layers of acrylics were making it all too thick. This was the effect, and it was the wrong one.

 

Besides, I don’t know why this happens, but she looked much more like my model as a drawing than she did as a painting, it wasn’t Kim any more. I e-mailed her with a copy of this image and explained my missgivings, especially the fact that it did not look like her. Her answered made me so happy, and gave me the freedom to really do something special for her. She said: It doesn’t have to look like me, and I just want to be in one of your paintings, do your thing and it’s gonna be fine, don’t sweat it. Or something of that sort. I was so happy I just sat down and drew the image I had had on the back of my mind going against the grain all this time: I’m going to remake Kim as a cupcake goddess! This is what I sent her in the mail last Tuesday morning:

 

I added the detail of sewing the “sprinkles” on with glass beads. I’m happy to say Kim loved it. But there was another woman, let’s say, an adult version of the girlie goddess, that still bothered me, I liked her very much, but her destiny was not as I originally had imagined. I went back some days ago to my work table and sat down with her for a bit of a chat. I just had to give her a “make-over”. This was the result:

      From this:   

To this:

 

                                             

Yep, I thought so.

For now, the fat lady has sung. Till next time when I see what the heck I can come up with to keep pushing myself further ahead into the unknown yonder!

Blessings, Love and Light!

E.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Art Every Day (day 2)”

  1. Effy November 5, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    really beautiful, as always. ❤

  2. Maisy November 5, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    The top piece is my favourite; she’s really beautiful and I love how you settled on the background! xx

    • Edna November 12, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Thanks for coming maisy Babes!!!

  3. Carol November 5, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    How interesting your art is… I am trying to figure out what your artful faces remind me of, and finally it came to me…and it hit me…it was the painting to go along with a book I read called “Shark Dialogues” http://www.amazon.com/Shark-Dialogues-Kiana-Davenport/dp/0452274583/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t#reader_0452274583

    Your paintings so remind me of the artist’s expression on the book cover. It is wonderful to feel a sense of something ancient in your paintings.

    • Edna November 5, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Thank u so much Carol!!! Now I’m gonna have to go and check out that book! Your comments always make me feel so good, you’ve made my morning. The depth of what you say feels my soul.

  4. CArol November 6, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Wow! ~ Wonderful! ~thanks, namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor) Happy AEDM ^_^

    • Edna November 12, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      Thanks for visiting. I am following the challenge, I’m arting every day, just not posting every day. So happy for having you here. please do come again, and bring your friends!

  5. nancybird75 November 18, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Naked is just fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

